nullbabysitter/vancouver/1179079
ID: 1179079
Nanny/Babysitter in Vancouver - Lesley G.
Back
Full-Time, Part-Time • Live-Out

Lesley G.

52
Yrs old
30
Yrs Experience

My name is Lesley. I am a 52 year old mother of two sons who have become the young men we need in the world today and I am very proud. They are now in post secondary school and I am available to use my unique skills with another family. I am an Emily Carr Graduate and a professional Fine Artist. I love working with children with my creative abilities and often can cross over into the world of Science with effortless flow. And the imagination here creates unique & fun learning and childcare. I love outdoor activities and hiking to help with all parts of life. I am wilderness & street smart. I grew up on the Lakes of the Okanagan and on the Mountains of the Sea to Sky Corridor as the oldest child of six siblings. I am very creative, loyal, intelligent & sensitive person. I am well educated and have a keen sense of health, nutrition & wellness. I have creative problem solving skills and known to be great under pressure. I am an excellent driver with safe driving record over 30 years with Class 4, 5 & 6. I have excellent references.

I am a mother of two amazing young men Gus & Max - who are 21 and 19 years old doing post secondary education. Gus was a valedictorian and Max won the Diversity award at his graduation. I am a very proud mother who has some extra time on her hands now that they are both entering adulthood. I am the oldest of six children and we grew up in the okanagan on the lake & forest and then moved to Sea to Sky corridor in 1987. At the age of 12 years old, I was babysitting neighbourhood children and tutoring in high school Fine Art, English & Algebra. I have wilderness wisdom and city smarts. And I love being outside in nature as part of a balanced lifestyle. Plus, I am knowledgeable in nutrition & wellness. I am professional artist and I am an award winning Emily Carr Alumni Graduate. I love working with children. I was a live in nanny in 1989 - 1991 to a prominent Family in British Properties and when the father died of cancer at age of 41 (1991) - he asked me to stay in the young girls life - they were 2 and 4 years old and I did continue to help them right up through university and now 34 years later they are my son's Godmothers and have their own daughters - 3 weeks and 1 years old. I helped the girls with every aspect of their lives and now they have their Masters and PHD. I cooked, I traveled, I mentored, I drove to lessons & school, I tutored them in all subjects but especially Fine Art & Science as I attended Emily Carr University of Art and Design from 1991 to 1995 and then 5th Year University at UBC to 1997. I am honored to have stayed with this particular family for 34 years off and on again. At this point, I am considered part of the family. The loyalty, trust and integrity required to integrate with such an amazing family and to run a household in the British Properties, Whistler & wherever they needed me was a true honor. Plus, to help with all aspects of traveling, tutoring & recreational activities was fulfilling and kept my mind & body activated. Recently, I have been supplementing my income with babysitting jobs for a family I have known for 17 years and their 7 year old son Lincoln while the parents have date night out. This is a good one for me. It is flexible. Over the last 30 years, I have often run fine art programs and helped in art therapy for street youth and for after school programs elementary & high school students through: Boys and Girls Club, Vancouver School Board, Front Line Work, Safe Houses for Women & Children, Art Therapy as an artist, Outreach & YWCA programs. This work has always been very fulfilling but my real specialty is one on one work.

Graduated Honors in Science & Fine Art 1989 Howe Sound Secondary Emily Carr University of Art & Design - Bachelor of Fine Art (1991 - 95) University of British Columbia - 5th Year 1996 1996 - 1998 Academy of Canadian Film & Television (Director's Apprenticeship) BCIT - 2006 First Year Glazing Glass & Metal (Fine Art Studies continues)

  • Phone number confirmed

Desired salary $30/hour

Work Availability
Desired start date immediately
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Overnight
M
T
W
Th
F
Sa
Su
Able to do the following
Cooking
Light housekeeping
Running errands/Grocery shopping
Prepare meals for kids
Transport children
Bathe and dress children
Аdditional comments
Any cooking or cleaning for the children I am with. Tidying up the children's area. Dressing children - no problem & probably bathing once we get to know each other. Doing loads of laundry is fine. Using my skill set for more appropriate activities. Preparing healthy food & snacks for outside adventures or lessons with children. Making sure children are clean and organized and properly dressed for appropriate activities including studying, hiking or classes. I have my safe drivers for over 33 years CLASS 4, 5 & 6 so willing to take children to appropriate activities. I love doing lessons outside and using nature as part of the classroom. Creative activities are my strong skill set. Working creatively and unique problem solving skills are my super power in a family unit.
Experience with age groups
Willing to care for 2 children
item
Newborn
item
1-2 years
item
3-5 years
item
6-9 years
item
over 10 years
Will care for Special Needs Children
Yes

Education

First Aid Training
CPR Training
Bachelor's Degree
College
High School
Graduated High School or Equivalent
Additional Information
Active: 04 Jun • Member since: November 2023
featureNon-smoker
featureHave a valid driver's license
featureHave a personal car
featureComfortable with pets
featureCan swim
featureAble to travel with the family
featureCan work in homes with video surveillance
featureHave my own child/children
Gender: Female
Proof of police check: Willing to obtain
My Nationality: Canadian
Languages: English

You may be interested in

4989 similar profiles