nullbabysitter/halifax/404458
ID: 404458
Babysitter in Halifax - Alisa H.
Part-Time • Live-Out

Alisa H.

32
Yrs old
7
Yrs Experience
Dartmouth • 955 km away

Hello. I just recently returned to Canada from the UK, where I was living abroad with my husband. We are in the process of moving to Halifax so I am currently available for part time or occasional help until we are fully settled, after which time I could take on a more stable position. I am currently working in the mornings as an online ESL teacher, working with children 3-12 years in China. I have 7 years professional childcare experience with infants to 12 year olds, including twins. I also have experience teaching dance, yoga and theatre and volunteering with children with special needs. I have a BFA in Art History, performance background and am interested in dance therapy, child development and mental health. I love engaging with children, playing, reading and being creative.

Currently teaching English as a Second Language online in the early mornings to children in China, aged 3-12. I have a great deal of experience working with children of all ages, especially young children (newborn-6 years). I have worked for 5 families in the Montreal area with children aged newborn-12 (including twin infants, who are now 6 yrs old) and have continued to maintain strong relationships with the children, even at a distance. In addition to this I have worked as a travel nanny for a family in NYC. I have experience working with children from different cultural backgrounds, including French and Finnish speaking, with whom I have helped to develop their English. I also have volunteer experience with children with special needs (primarily with autism and Down's syndrome) and am comfortable adapting to each child's unique needs. Prior to relocating to the UK, I taught ESL for a company named Langmobile at various after school programs in primary schools in Montreal, as well as at their annual summer camp. In addition to this, I facilitated dance and yoga classes to daycare children for the same company. I have professional training in dance and theatre and am currently completing a 200-hour yoga teacher training, which includes trauma awareness. I am passionate about incorporating my love of art, movement and wellbeing into my work with children. I also love to read and encouraging literacy in children.

BFA in Art History from Concordia University 1. 5 years training in contemporary dance program (Concordia) Performing Arts Certificate from the Canadian College of Performing Arts (Victoria, BC) TEFL certificate Currently completing 200-hour Yoga Teacher Training program

Desired salary $20/hour

Work Availability
Desired start date immediately
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Overnight
M
T
W
Th
F
Sa
Su
Able to do the following
Cooking
Light housekeeping
Running errands/Grocery shopping
Prepare meals for kids
Transport children
Do children's laundry
Experience with age groups
Willing to care for up to 3 children
item
Newborn
item
1-2 years
item
3-5 years
item
6-9 years
item
over 10 years
Will care for Special Needs Children
Yes

Education

High School
Graduated High School or Equivalent
College
Bachelor's Degree
CPR Training
First Aid Training
My references
References available on request: 3
Additional Information
Active: 20 Sep • Member since: September 2013
featureNon-smoker
featureHave a valid driver's license
featureComfortable with pets
featureCan swim
featureAble to travel with the family
Gender: Female
Proof of police check: Yes
My Nationality: Canadian
Languages: English

You may be interested in

123 similar profiles

Babysitter in Halifax - Dawn T.

Dawn T.

35
Yrs old
6
Yrs Experience
Full-Time, Part-Time • Live-Out
I am an outgoing person who LOVES being around children. I have taken care of children since the age of 12. I am a dance teacher and judo coach and look forward to dealing with the kids class every week. I ma a graduate student starting my PhD in the fall. I love to read, be outside and to engage ch
Babysitter in Halifax - Laura L.

Laura L.

27
Yrs old
10
Yrs Experience
Full-Time, Part-Time • Live-Out
I am a 24 year old female born and raised in Nova Scotia, with no children of my own. I have a diploma (and currently working towards my degree) in Therapeutic Recreation, I have a lot of experience with people of all different abilities and also with behaviour management. I have always loved childr

Rochelle A.

29
Yrs old
10
Yrs Experience
Part-Time • Live-Out
Certified lifeguard and swimming instructor, and First aid /CPR / AED / O2 Administration Instructor. I come from a huge family where I have over 30 siblings (if we ever meet I would love to explain that to you). I enjoy working with children of all ages whether it be little ones learning to wal