nullsenior-elderly-caregiver/ottawa/874386
ID: 874386
Caregiver in Ottawa - Beverly H.
Full-Time, Part-Time • Live-Out
Premium
This is a Premium candidate:
  • You can see his/her phone number
  • Unlimited chat with the candidate
Active Jobseeker
This care provider is actively looking for work.
Contact the candidate and hire directly, use our Secure Messaging Service or contact by phone.

Beverly H.

56
Yrs old
17
Yrs Experience
Ottawa • 3 km away

My training as a Personal Support Worker is my second career. I have held administrative positions in the past, but found part-time work in home support was a better career for me. Completing my Personal Support Worker certification has provided me with increased responsibility and more variety in the care I provide. I am fully vaccinated against Covid-19. I have two cats, enjoy reading, writing, cooking, baking and participating in church activities at the United Church of Canada.

Personal Support Worker Certificate Bachelor of Arts Degree in Sociology I began working as a Home Support Worker at Ottawa West Community Support in 2005 and received my Personal Support Worker certification from New Brunswick Community College in the spring of 2014 with a grade point average of 3.167 (84 percent). My own research in dementia care has led me to communicate more effectively with clients though genuine feelings, adapted conversation and body language to provide them with meaningful care. I am interested in working with older adults who have recently received a neuropsychological assessment and received a diagnosed of dementia to help them learn specific ways to adapt and maximize their ability to function. My approach to support is relationship-based focusing on genuine feelings and trust. I build meaningful relationships with clients while maintaining the role of a healthcare professional customizing care to meet their unique needs. I want to advance in my career developing interventions to assist clients with physical and behaviour needs related to specific brain functions. More information about the work I'm doing is available at www.similetraining.ca I have worked as a certified Personal Support Worker in a nursing home in Fredericton, NB for the past five years. The experience I have gained providing care to many different types of people who have a wide variety of dementias has been invaluable, but I am looking forward to moving back home to Ottawa to provide more specialized care.

Desired salary $30/hour

Work Availability
Desired start date immediately
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Overnight
M
T
W
Th
F
Sa
Su
Able to do the following
Escort to Appointments
Plan Visits, Outings, & Trips to Visit Neighbours, Friends, Family
Alzheimer/Dementia Care
Lifts and Transfers
Patient Positioning
Catheter/ Colostomy Care
Prefer to work in
item
Home Health Care
item
Retirement Homes
item
Clinic / Hospital
Willing to work with clients with
Alzheimer's
Dementia
Diabetes
Incontinence (diapers)
Osteoporosis
Visual Impairment

Education

Caregiver / Companion
Personal Support Worker (PSW) Certificate
Bachelor's Degree
My references
References available on request: 4
Recommended by Diane C.
Beverly has provided services to a variety of clients with a wide range of cognitive and physical ailments. Mostly working in the client’s home, without direct supervision, Beverly has had to use judgment, especially when faced with problematic or challenging situations. She has proven able to take initiative when needed, while staying within the limits of her role. Working with clients in their home, also means having to adapt to new circumstances. She is often asked to deal with family members and the dynamics specific to each household she visits. Beverly is aware of the losses her clients have experienced and recognizes how these losses may affect their health and general wellbeing. She always strives to find her client’s strengths and to use these as the building blocks to their relationship. I have known Beverly since October 2005 when she first applied to work as a Home Support Worker at Ottawa West Community Support. She is a consistent, reliable and committed worker. Diane Chavez Program Manager, Home Support Services
Recommended by Suzanne R.
I have known Suzanne for two years at the nursing home where I currently work. She is "a family member of a dementia patient who has been able to gain more insight to what our Mother is going through and how we can help in her journey through your caring and thoughtful ways. You were the first staff who truly showed that you cared about our Mother, that she was more than a resident, that there was a person behind her disease."
Additional Information
Active: Today • Member since: June 2021
featureNon-smoker
featureHave a valid driver's license
featureComfortable with pets
featureCan swim
featureCan work in homes with video surveillance
Gender: Female
Proof of police check: Yes
Proof of negative Covid-19 results: I HAVE A VACCINATION CARD
My Nationality: Canadian
Languages: English

You may be interested in

101-like profile

Caregiver in Ottawa - Fabienne P.

Fabienne P.

39
Yrs old
9
Yrs Experience
Full-Time • Live-In, Live-Out
My Name is Fabienne , I’ve been in Canada for over 13 years from the Caribbean, out of those years I’ve been a Support worker for almost a decade, i like to read, i like helping others, i believe in teamwork, To whom it may concern Currently I’m working as community worker where i go to client h

Carrie M.

54
Yrs old
10
Yrs Experience
Full-Time, Part-Time • Live-Out
I am a dependable, compassionate, professional, adapt Easley to new environment, 30 and more years experience in health care. My personal favorite, is working with elderly people. My first priority is my family, with this job, I treat the person I am providing care for as I would a member of my fami

Esther Z.

55
Yrs old
7
Yrs Experience
Full-Time, Part-Time • Live-In, Live-Out
I am able to work like nanny babysitter. I studied at La Cité Collégiale in two programmes ( PSW and Technical Social Worker). I am working now in Gatineau Québec likes Nursery assistance and I would like to work in Ottawa Ontario because I am living in this area. It an opportunity for me to work li