nullcaregiver-jobs/kitchener/100003754
ID: 100003754
Job in the archive
The employer successfully find a suitable employee

Companion, Caregiver for my mother with Alzheimer's

MM
Active:

Searching for a companion/caregiver for our mom (two brothers and I). She's a boomer-aged retiree, recently diagnosed with dementia. At the moment she needs an introduction to the companion concept. Scaling up to a 20 hour/week commitment would be a reasonable goal over the course of 4-6 weeks, and after that increase gradually as possible depending on her comfort with the relationship. If you're interested, you're the type of person who has a knack for providing gentle encouragement to stay involved in social activities, trying new activities in the community, administration of medication, timely meal times, and transportation to and from her home (up to distances of 60 minutes from her home address, to start) You'll be able to keep her schedule organized to be sure she has a fridge full of healthy food by joining her on trips to the grocery store. You're active and share her love of the outdoors and/or gardening. You'll partner with her on some of her day to day activities, which she does manage moderately on her own, but will benefit from your guidance as she gets off track from time to time. NOTE: she is ambulatory and needs no help with toileting or personal care. As mom's condition changes, so too may the requirements. Flexibility, willingness to adapt/improvise and patience will all be key attributes required for this role. I welcome a conversation with any interested candidates, please don't hesitate to call me directly. Requirements: Valid Ontario Drivers License & "reasonably" clean drivers abstract Police check Experience interacting with Alzheimers and Dementia patients (or other types of cognitive impairment) Reliability, compassion, and outstanding interpersonal skills. Healthcare, social work, or other relevant training/experience is a bonus. Compensation: We will discuss hourly rates and reimbursement for transportation services with any candidates selected for interviews. NOTE: my brothers and I are all located within 10 minutes of my mom.

You may be interested in

6 similar jobs

PSW required to help a 30 year old male involved in motor vehicle accident. Duties: -pick up and deliver groceries -meal prep. -personal care Schedule: Thursdays 8:30 am - 12pm, Fridays 11 am - 3 pm, Saturdays 8:30 am - 12pm. Location: Kitchener Rate: $22/hr Must be PSW or RN certi
Part-Time • Live-Out
Provides personal care and assistance with the client’s ADL
Full-Time, Part-Time • Live-Out
From $25/hour
Helping with house hold chores for the elderly, and the family meal prep, laundry, errands, cleaning and cooking meals . Some yard work might be required depending on season.
Full-Time • Live-In, Live-Out
From $19/hour