nullbabysitter/vancouver/615330
ID: 615330
Nanny/Babysitter in Vancouver - Torey W.
Part-Time • Live-Out

Torey W.

32
Yrs old
10
Yrs Experience

My name is Torey and I am a 29 year old from New York with a strong passion for childcare. I moved to Vancouver 11 years ago to attend UBC and have spent the entirety of my time here working with children of all ages. I put a lot into the families I work for, and consider them all to be a huge part of my life. Being a nanny is so much more than a job for me; in taking care of someone's children, I treat it as much more than being a stellar employee. I look at it as becoming a new part of someone's family, in which I can help be a role model and a comfort for the children I watch. I am always thinking of new things the kids and I can do together and new ways to make them laugh. I realize that taking care of someone's children is not just any job, and it is one that I take very seriously and invest myself in fully. When I am not working, I enjoy swimming which I have been doing so competitively since I was a child. I also like to spend my time running, boxing, writing, going to the beach, playing board games, and reading. I hope this has given you a sense of who I am, and how excited I am to continue this journey doing something that I love so much. I can assure you that I am ready to take on any position, whether it is one child or eight. I have plenty of infant care experience, and am completely willing to take on housework, as well. If you have any questions, or are looking for references, don't hesitate to ask; I am excited to hear from you.

I have been working in childcare for many years now, as a full-time nanny (live-in and live-out), a babysitter, a children's program coordinator at a library, and a summer camp admin. I have extensive experience with all ages, and have been with many of the families I work for for over 7 years; I have been the nanny and babysitter to many kids from the time they were babies and toddlers, until they're now 10. I really value what I do and I am confident that is reflected in my work. Most recently, I was a live-in nanny for three children (working part time) ages 7, 9, and 10. I had been with them since the youngest was two, until they moved to Kelowna. I also was the full-time nanny for a little boy from the time he was 10 months, and now babysit for him (6yrs) and his little sister (4yrs) and brother (18m). I babysit for several other families, with children ranging in age from 1 to 11 years, and do frequent long term shifts while parents go on vacation. I am accustomed to becoming an integral part of the families I work for, fostering long lasting connections with the kids and parents alike; I treat my childcare work as more than just a job and value the experiences and relationships I have gained over the years. I always seek to find the balance of being a true friend to the kids I work with, and maintain those connections as they grow up, while also being a firm adult figure in their lives that they trust and respect. I am a very creative person, and love bringing crafts and activities to work. We play games like scavenger hunts, home-made jeopardy, do science experiments, bake, paint canvases, decorate jewelry boxes, as well as the tried and true things like hide and go seek, board games, running around outside, and much more. You can rely on me to be patient, consistent, reliable, punctual, and communicative. I have a full time (now working from home) job at UBC in admissions, though it allows me flexibility in my day to day hours; I am looking to help out a new family part-time or as a sporadic babysitter.

I am a UBC graduate with a BA in Sociology

  • Phone number confirmed

Desired salary $23/hour

Work Availability
Desired start date immediately
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Overnight
M
T
W
Th
F
Sa
Su
Able to do the following
Cooking
Light housekeeping
Running errands/Grocery shopping
Prepare meals for kids
Transport children
Do children's laundry
Experience with age groups
Willing to care for more than 4 children
item
Newborn
item
1-2 years
item
3-5 years
item
6-9 years
item
over 10 years
Will care for Special Needs Children
Yes

Education

College
Graduated High School or Equivalent
Additional Information
Active: More than a month ago • Member since: August 2011
featureNon-smoker
featureComfortable with pets
featureCan swim
featureAble to travel with the family
featureCan work in homes with video surveillance
Gender: Female
Proof of police check: Willing to obtain
My Nationality: American
Languages: English, Spanish

You may be interested in

4950 similar profiles