ID: 439233
Nanny/Babysitter in Ottawa - Cecylia L.
Full-Time • Live-Out

Cecylia L.

Yrs old
Yrs Experience
Ottawa • 9 km away

Hi there. I am currently an Educational Assistant with the Catholic school board (OCSB). I work with children with special needs and pride myself on being one of the most empathetic, patient EAs at the elementary school I work at. I am looking for a job where I feel safe during this pandemic and I am looking after children, for July and August. I have about 12 years of working with children of all ages. Of course during the summer months and when there’s no school, I usually do some form of childcare with the board but with the pandemic, it’s a different story this year. My partner and I are also trying to have a baby as well so it is important I feel safe, with minimal risk. I also own a good vehicle as well, have certified first aid and my criminal records check done from the school board. I really look forward to introducing myself - I think we would be a great match, where we would be comfortable and feel safe during this difficult time period. All the best, Cecylia

EDUCATION Teacher’s Ed Stream – Trent University September 2014 – April 2016 Sociology Honours BA, Carleton University September 2016 - Dec 2017 GPA: 10. 0 Computer Proficiency Skills Developed: ● Proficient using Software such as: Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, PowerPoint)/Google Drive programs ● Proficient using Apple Software (iTunes, MAC Operating System) and PC systems WORK EXPERIENCE · Educational Assistant at OCSB September 2019-present o Supervised and worked with children with exceptionalities (for example attention deficit hyperactive disorder, Angelman’s syndrome, children with autism, etc. ) o Helped children in the classroom setting o Helped students understand lessons further in detail o Assisted the teacher with marking tests, assignments, and other school related activities · Extended Day Program Facilitator at OCSB March 2019-September 2019 o Provides active and engaged supervision to children between the ages of 4 – 12 yrs in the before and after school programs. o Provides opportunities for children that help to support physical, cognitive, emotional and social development. o Following the program philosophy of a relaxed, warm and safe environment, I would help to nurture and support children and their families. · City of Ottawa, Saturday Social Program, Special Needs Program Leader Sept. 2016 - January 2017 o Organized programs for adults with varying learning disabilities including trips to museums, crafts, fairs, etc. o De-escalated situations when clients were agitated with a calm demeanor o Ensured safety of clients was prioritized · City of Ottawa, Dance Instructor (Jazz & Ballet) Sept. 2016 - November 2016 o Choreographed separate one hour Jazz and Ballet dances and activities for children from ages 3-5 o Assisted children with separation anxiety feel comfortable with other children by working with children’s parents to help their child adjust to the dance classroom setting · City of Ottawa, Camp Counsellor May 2016 - August 2016 o Lead children from ages 5-14 and a staff of camp counsellors and organized the weekly camp’s schedule including away trips and activities in the facilities o Maintained appropriate ratios for staff to children to ensure their safety was prioritized o Intervened when bullying took place and whenever necessary · Teaching Assistant at OCSB January 2011-June 2011 o Through Co-op with St. Gabriel’s Catholic Elementary School in Kanata, Ontario in 2011: Assisted with teaching units, creating lesson plans for poetry and the arts curriculum to Grade 5 class as well as working closely with a child with behavioural issues due to the toxic home environment in kindergarten classrooms) CERTIFICATIONS AND AWARDS · PECS Training Level 1 Certification date: April 17, 2020 · Canadian Red Cross First Aid + AED Certified Level C Expiry date: March 16, 2022 · CORE Training, City of Ottawa; Expiry July 9, 2017 · SAFEGUARD, City of Ottawa; Certification date: June 30, 2016 · HIGH FIVE Training for City of Ottawa: August 2016 · SHSM Diploma June 2013 · WHIMIS Training: All Saints Catholic High School, Training for SHSM Diploma, and Farmboy training, City of Ottawa, various companies VOLUNTEER WORK · The Ottawa Men’s Refuge (nonprofit organization for male victims of IPV) - - Sept. 2017 – December 2017 · Taught three grades 1-3 classes hip hop dance in Hong Kong, China – Hong Kong Renaissance College · Alpine Ski Instructor – Pakenham Ski Resort; taught children, (ages 6-10) how to ski – certification in 2008-2009 · Member of Peer Leadership Program at All Saints Catholic High School 2011 Additional Experiences/Qualifications: Teachers education stream program Bachelors of Arts degree in Sociology

Desired salary $26/hour

Work Availability
Desired start date immediately
Able to do the following
Light housekeeping
Running errands/Grocery shopping
Prepare meals for kids
Transport children
Do children's laundry
Experience with age groups
Willing to care for more than 4 children
1-2 years
3-5 years
6-9 years
over 10 years
Will care for Special Needs Children


First Aid Training
CPR Training
Certified Nanny Training
Bachelor's Degree
High School
Graduated High School or Equivalent
Additional Information
Active: More than a month ago • Member since: May 2020
featureHave a valid driver's license
featureHave a personal car
featureComfortable with pets
featureCan swim
Gender: Female
Proof of police check: Yes
My Nationality: Canadian
Languages: French, English, Italian

You may be interested in

1090 similar profiles

Nanny/Babysitter in Gatineau - Kassy W.

Kassy W.

Yrs old
Yrs Experience
Full-Time, Part-Time • Live-Out
Hey. Kassy here, 25 full of fun, energy and very outgoing. I worked as an assistant manager for the last three years then transitioned to a different type of customer service job, but now I’m ready for a more rewarding change. I am looking to implement my experience with my 2 younger brothers as
Nanny/Babysitter in Ottawa - Anita B.

Anita B.

Yrs old
Full-Time • Live-Out
I am an experienced elementary school teacher with four years of experience with students. I am willing to spend my time with children and provide my care to them. I have four years of experience in teaching in elementary school.
Nanny/Babysitter in Ottawa - Cindy M.

Cindy M.

Yrs old
Yrs Experience
Full-Time • Live-In, Live-Out
Dear Mr/Mrs I attempt to apply for the Home Child Care Provider I am a 25 year old currently pursuing a medical career, and I have always been related and happy to work with children. I currently am in Ottawa so if you are interested in making an interview I'd love to schedule that. I ca