nullbabysitter/halifax/567049
ID: 567049
Babysitter in Halifax - Oshia M.
Full-Time, Part-Time • Live-Out

Oshia M.

24
Yrs old
7
Yrs Experience
Halifax • 947 km away

Hello families of parents, guardians, and little ones! You may have seen me post before. I am a very established nanny in the area with a lot of demand pretty quickly in my previous efforts, so am hoping for a similar outcome upon searching for a new opportunity! My name is Oshia , I am a 24 year old Master of Arts in Counselling Psychology candidate, set to become a psychotherapist after my work term - living in Halifax! 🙂 When I was 16, I began childcare at a daycare centre in my hometown on the South Shore - with children from 18 months to 12 years of age. I worked there throughout senior high, as my mom is one of the established care providers there. 🙂 I have lived in Halifax for going on 6 years now, I moved here in 2016 to pursue my undergraduate degree. Since then, I’ve worked with 5 different families as a private nanny! Currently, and as of the past year, I am with an absolutely wonderful little one and her parents, who are sadly moving across country effective by end of this month. I find it so incredibly difficult to let go; as I grow the deepest bonds with the children I care for, not having my own yet especially. I began with this family when the child was only 1 year old, and have spent the last year with them. Meaning, I have experience with babies and toddlers, and have been around for half of her life! Going to miss her so very much. But, it makes me feel so good I’ve been able to help out a few families during this crazy pandemic as they have almost all worked within health care. 💜 I drive my own vehicle which is safely equipped for a child of any size (you provide car seat) and although my first aid is by definition expired, I am confident in my skills and level of care! However, recertification could be discussed if required! A bit more about me and what I do: I graduated in 2020 with a BA in Psychology with distinction and then went straight into my Masters of Counselling Psychology program! It is a fully online program that I’ve spent the last two years in completing 14 courses for. I ended with a 4.12 GPA (straight A’s) and went right into my internship as of May 1st, as mentioned, with a wonderful non-profit clinic in downtown Halifax with a focus on culture, race, gender, abuse, and the LGBTQ community. We function on an online basis still and will for the unforeseen future, so I am working from home making it easier for me to balance paid work and my internship! Currently, I counsel clients on Tuesdays and Thursdays (making me unavailable on those days, at least until December). I also have a seminar from 8pm-10pm every second Friday (not every Friday) from home. However, my availability is still very widespread! 🙂 (this can also be discussed/laid out further). I absolutely love children, and want to continue helping out all of the families I can until I spread my wings and go deeper into the mental healthcare field! I know one of the biggest challenges for parents, especially new parents and residents to a new neighbourhood, to find someone to trust with their most prized possession(s): their sweet babies! I want to be the one that makes this adjustment easier for parents, knowing they have someone loving, kind, and nurturing to take the best care of their little one’s (and their homes and/or pets) while they are at work etc. Feeling like I’m a part of the family is my goal for both you and me! I’d be overjoyed to be given the opportunity to chat further, though - and look forward to (hopefully) getting to meet with you and your wonderful family. 🙂 Thank you for the opportunity. I have been hoping something like this would fall into my arms to help me transition from the past year with the little one I currently care for. Additionally, I was always brought up with at least 2 labs in my household at any given time - since moving away I haven’t been able to commit to owning my own dog (yet) so if you have pets, I love that. The current family I’ve been with has had a golden retriever who has brightened my days, as has the child - smiles and love all around 😀 I have a handful of wonderful references to be provided if you’d like to discuss my past work with families in the area in order to help build some trust and determine fit! Just reach out to me, please, so I can send those privately! Hope to chat soon! - Oshia

Little People's Place - Shelburne, NS - 4 years Private Nanny - Halifax, NS - 5 families

Bachelor's Degree Midway through Master's degree.

  • Phone number confirmed

Salary: Negotiable

Work Availability
Desired start date immediately
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Overnight
M
T
W
Th
F
Sa
Su
Able to do the following
Cooking
Light housekeeping
Running errands/Grocery shopping
Prepare meals for kids
Transport children
Do children's laundry
Experience with age groups
Willing to care for up to 3 children
item
Newborn
item
1-2 years
item
3-5 years
item
6-9 years
item
over 10 years
Will care for Special Needs Children
Yes
Virtual sitter activities offered
Virtual learning
Homework help
Counting practice
Practice reading aloud
Simple crafts
Dance party
I am not familiar with this type of work, but would be open to learning about it and conducting it!

Education

High School
Graduated High School or Equivalent
Bachelor's Degree
Master's Degree
CPR Training
First Aid Training
My references
References available on request: 8
Recommended by Sara S.
Sara is the mother of one of the little boy's I have been with longest in the near past. They moved to England early last year, promising me a reference no matter where life takes me! Due to the distance, contacting her by email is best (see above) or, if you prefer to contact her via WhatsApp, I can provide you her number privately!
Recommended by Rachel S.
Rachel is the mother of the child I currently tend to. Her family is moving, therefore I will be finished there with their little girl before the end of the month. I have been with them for a year, making me present for half of the child's life!
Additional Information
Active: More than a month ago • Member since: July 2018
featureNon-smoker
featureHave a valid driver's license
featureHave a personal car
featureComfortable with pets
featureCan swim
featureAble to travel with the family
Gender: Female
Proof of police check: Yes
Proof of negative Covid-19 results: Yes
My Nationality: Canadian
Languages: English

You may be interested in

113 similar profiles

Babysitter in Halifax - Hannah H.

Hannah H.

26
Yrs old
9
Yrs Experience
Full-Time, Part-Time • Live-Out
Hi there! I am a bubbly 25 year old raised in a home that had a live-in nanny until I was 15 years old. She was like a secound mother to me. I have above average communication skills as well as organizational skills. I have consistently done well in school as well as in any jobs I have had over the
Babysitter in Halifax - Paris D.

Paris D.

21
Yr old
8
Yrs Experience
Part-Time • Live-Out
Hello. My name is Paris, and I am currently attending Dalhousie University. I am working towards a Bachelor of Arts degree, and a major in Audiology. When I am not working, or studying, I have dedicated myself to take part in a wonderful program called Halifax Cheer Elite. Having the opportu
Babysitter in Halifax - Lucy S.

Lucy S.

22
Yrs old
8
Yrs Experience
Full-Time, Part-Time • Live-Out
Eight years experience in child-care of any age, from babies to teenagers. I have worked inclusion programs for special needs, worked in summer camps caring for up to ten children at a time, overnight nannying, and casual babysitting. Also a lot of experience as a housekeeper, I have worked housekee