ID: 542043
Nanny/Babysitter in Halifax - Mary H.
Part-Time • Live-Out

Mary H.

Yrs old
Yrs Experience
Halifax • 951 km away

My name is Mary and I am a third year student at Dalhousie University. I am majoring in Psychology and Sustainability in hopes of becoming a teacher! I love working with children and have many years of experience. I was a babysitter for 6 years, worked as a ECE Assistant and an Inclusion Support Worker. I am outgoing, energetic, and love being around people. I also have 1 year of experience working in a kitchen and know how to prepare healthy meals. I can provide great references as well as a police check. I have completed my Emergency CPR and First Aid as well. I would love to get to know you and your family and feel as though I would be a great candidate.

I babysat for a family of three boys for about 6 years. When I started the eldest was 2 and he was the only child. A year later his brother was born and 3 years after that the youngest was born. I looked after them until I moved and the eldest boy was 8. I babysat for them about 2 or 3 days a week and more on my summers. I also would go on vacation with the family such as camping trips and trips to the fair, beach, etc. I would also help take the boys to the doctor or dentist when needed. In grade 12, I took a course at the College called Introduction to Early Childhood Education and loved it. I learned all about creative fun games for children and about the psychology behind it. I learned about children from each age group and their needs. It was incredibly informative. I have had two amazing summer jobs the past two years working with children. I worked as an Early Childhood Education Assistant at The North Grove in Dartmouth. Here I developed programming for the morning camps we held as well as holding family playgroups and childcare a few times a week. The second was an Inclusion Support Worker for Oak Bay Recreation in Victoria. Here I worked as an Inclusion Support Worker at summer camps and worked one on one with kiddos who had diverse needs. I also have experience working with children with disabilities. In high school I took 2 courses working with kids in Room 135. They were my favourite classes in all of my 4 years of high school. I also was in a club called Lunch Buddies where we would partner up with one of the students and each lunch with them one of the days of the week. As well, I volunteered with a program called Community Living, where I was a helper for a special needs bowling league. From those experience I got a job this past summer as an Inclusion Support Worker.

  • First Aid certificate
  • Criminal record check
  • Phone number confirmed

Salary: Negotiable

Work Availability
Desired start date immediately
Able to do the following
Light housekeeping
Running errands/Grocery shopping
Prepare meals for kids
Transport children
Do children's laundry
Experience with age groups
Willing to care for more than 4 children
1-2 years
3-5 years
6-9 years
over 10 years
Will care for Special Needs Children
Work history
Accumulated experience : 7 years • Number of previous jobs: 4
2023 — 2023 • Less than a year
I was a nanny over the summer to an 8 week old baby. I helped the family out with caretaking for the child as well as cleaning/cooking tasks around the home.
Private Home
2022 — 2023 • 1 years
Inclusion Support Worker
Worked one on one with children who required extra support in camps. Each week I was usually paired with a different child which gave me the opportunity to possess a wide range of knowledge of how to support diverse disabilities. Included tasks like : - Bathroom support - Administering Medication - Behavioural support - Feeding support - Creating a safe and welcoming safe for kids to feel comfortable in - Working to aid with inclusion with other children
Oak Bay Recreation
2021 — 2021 • Less than a year
Early Childhood Educator Assistant
I worked within the childcare programs everyday and helped develop the outdoor and indoor programming with my team. These programs included summer camps, childcare, and family play groups.
The North Grove
2013 — 2019 • 6 years
Throughout middle and high school, I babysat for a family of 3 young boys ranging in ages of 1 to 7 and continued to care for them full time in the summer and part time in the school year for over 6 years.
Meghan McGregor


First Aid Training
CPR Training
Graduated High School or Equivalent
College Child Education Courses
My references
Recommended by Sinclaire L.
Sinclaire was my supervisor at Oak Bay Recreation. She can provide my end of summer evaluation.
Recommended by Maryann B.
To Whom It May Concern, Mary Hendra is a creative, dedicated person who has excelled as an early childhood development program assistant at the North Grove. Mary was employed at the centre during July and August 2021. I was continually impressed at the degree of care and thoughtfulness she imbued in each activity and task she handled during her time with us. Mary was bright, good natured and approachable. She worked well with other staff and volunteers and was able to work on her own without supervision. Mary often took the initiative and completed tasks that had not been assigned to her. Due to COVID our centre has had to take on a different focus with emergency food distribution. Although not hired for that Mary was willing to help out with work teams involving aspects of the food distribution. Mary had an excellent work ethic; she was conscientious and reliable. The North Grove is located in a diverse community. Many families face a multitude of challenges due to their low socioeconomic level. Mary was able to foster many friendships with the participants and always maintained a non-judgmental attitude. Mary’s natural warm and caring personality made her especially popular with the children in our programs. It was a pleasure to work with Mary and I would highly recommend her for any position she might aspire to. If you have any questions with regard to her work experience at the centre, please feel free to contact me. Sincerely, Maryann Borg Child Development Coordinator. North G
Additional Information
Active: More than a month ago • Member since: December 2019
featureHave a valid driver's license
featureComfortable with pets
featureCan swim
featureAble to travel with the family
featureCan work in homes with video surveillance
Gender: Female
Proof of police check: Yes
My Nationality: Canadian
Languages: English

You may be interested in

237 similar profiles

Nanny/Babysitter in Halifax - Lucy S.

Lucy S.

Yrs old
Yrs Experience
Full-Time, Part-Time • Live-Out
Eight years experience in child-care of any age, from babies to teenagers. I have worked inclusion programs for special needs, worked in summer camps caring for up to ten children at a time, overnight nannying, and casual babysitting. Also a lot of experience as a housekeeper, I have worked housekee
Nanny/Babysitter in Halifax - Mikyah F.

Mikyah F.

Yrs old
Yrs Experience
Part-Time • Live-Out
my name is Mikyah! I am a reliable and experienced home support worker excited to help with your childcare assistance! I am bilingual in French and English. Organized and punctual with an excellent ability to multitask. I have 2+ years experience in home care with meal preparation, house cleaning
Nanny/Babysitter in Halifax - Oshia M.

Oshia M.

Yrs old
Yrs Experience
Full-Time, Part-Time • Live-Out
You may have seen me post before. I am a very established nanny in the area with a lot of demand pretty quickly in my previous efforts, so am hoping for a similar outcome upon searching for a new opportunity! My name is Oshia , I am a 25 year old Bachelor of Arts in Psychology (MSVU) and Master of