nullbabysitter/halifax/1127185
ID: 1127185
Babysitter in Halifax - Ciara Q.
Part-Time • Live-Out

Ciara Q.

19
Yrs old
5
Yrs Experience
Halifax • 954 km away

Hi! My name is Ciara , I'm a second-year bachelor of arts student studying psychology at Dalhousie University. I have always had a passion for working with children, which has motivated me to pursue a post-graduate degree in education in the future. My experiences have provided me with great knowledge and understanding of successful ways to interact with children and support their development. I will never leave your house messier than I’ve found it, I value outdoor time over screen time and I love to do hands-on activities with the children that keep their minds developing. This can be reading with the kids or working on their creative skills by making crafts. To get to know me a little, I have done many extracurricular activities over the years. When I was younger I used to be an Irish dancer, I played the piano and played hockey. I only really stuck with hockey when I reached high school and just recently stopped playing, now that I live in Halifax during the school year. I absolutely love the outdoors, so going for walks or going to the park is something I'd love to do with your child(ren). Lastly, I love baking. I worked in a bakery for 4 years and found a passion for creativity with baked goods. I hope this allows you to get to know me a little better :)

Past jobs and experiences: Emergency Supply Teacher (April 2022 - Present) - DPCDSB - Cover planning time, classrooms, and tutoring time - Marking the days work - Organizing the day and keeping track of student's whereabouts - Timing activities so students finish before recess and hometime - Helping kids out with their work and encouraging them to independently solve problems Babysitting (2018 - Present) - Ages 6 months - 11 years old Activities I do while babysitting: - Cook/Bake - Clean up after messes created during the babysitting period - Keep them active and entertained (walks, crafts, reading) - Review homework given at school to the child(ren) Grade 1 Tutor (Dec - Jan 2021) - I worked with a grade 1 student to increase his reading level, work on sight words and practice writing to develop stronger motor skills. Baker and Store Associate (2016 - 2020) - Prince of Wales Bakery - Kept the shelves constantly stocked up for customer satisfaction in the bakery - Developed baking and customer service skills - Stocked shelves, closed up the store, and worked the deli - Prepared orders and organized them during busy occasions throughout the year (Christmas, Easter…) - Was relied upon greatly to cover last-minute shifts as I was one of 2 employees in the store throughout my time there Elementary School Volunteer (2017-2019) - St. Jean Marie Vianney - Assisted the kindergarten teachers with classroom activities, supervising during lunch breaks and keeping students entertained

  • Phone number confirmed

Desired salary $18/hour

Work Availability
Desired start date Dec 17, 2022
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Overnight
M
T
W
Th
F
Sa
Su
Able to do the following
Cooking
Light housekeeping
Prepare meals for kids
Do children's laundry
Bathe and dress children
Help with homework
Experience with age groups
Willing to care for up to 3 children
item
Newborn
item
1-2 years
item
3-5 years
item
6-9 years
item
over 10 years
Will care for Special Needs Children
Yes
Virtual sitter activities offered
Virtual learning
Homework help
Counting practice
Practice reading aloud
Dance party
Charades

Education

Graduated High School or Equivalent
My references
References available on request: 5
Additional Information
Active: Today • Member since: June 2022
featureNon-smoker
featureHave a valid driver's license
featureComfortable with pets
featureCan swim
featureAble to travel with the family
Gender: Female
Proof of police check: Yes
Proof of negative Covid-19 results: Yes
My Nationality: Canadian
Languages: English

You may be interested in

132 similar profiles

Babysitter in Halifax - Maddy N.

Maddy N.

18
Yrs old
6
Yrs Experience
Part-Time • Live-Out
I love playing hockey and have been my whole life, I love getting outside and going camping and hiking and doing anything in nature. I love doing crafts and creating new crafts and games to play with kids. I like going for walks and creating new adventures and going to parks. I have been a babysitte

Rachael K.

19
Yrs old
4
Yrs Experience
Full-Time, Part-Time • Live-Out
hello! I am 18 years old. I am an adventurous, creative, fun and outgoing person. I enjoy being outside and busy. I can provide references if wanted and I have my whims, and Saint John first aid and babysitting certifications. I have been working with many different families and children for the p

Alexandra H.

21
Yr old
5
Yrs Experience
Full-Time, Part-Time • Live-Out
Hello my name is Alex and I am a 20 year old nursing student at Dalhousie. I am very experienced in children ages 2+ and have some experience with younger ages. I live in downtown Halifax and have been a camp counsellor for the past four summers. Since my camp is off this year, I’m looking for a chi